Marietta Underage DUI Attorney
Our Seasoned Underage DUI Defense Attorney in Marietta Can Help
If you are facing a underage DUI charge, you may be wondering whether you have to worry about the consequences of getting a DUI as a minor. While there are some differences in the way that a drunk or drugged driving charge will affect you depending on your age, there are many similarities as well. The consequences of an underage DUI can be severe, ranging from fines and license suspension to jail time and even the loss of your driver's license for years. If you are facing a underage DUI charge, it is important to have a skilled criminal defense attorney on your side.
At Frye Law Group, our Marietta underage DUI attorney is ready to take on your case. Our attorney has a proven track record of success in defending clients charged with DUI, and we are prepared to work hard for you to help you avoid the consequences of a DUI conviction. Our attorney is ready to listen to your case and use our experience and skill to help you.
Underage DUI Laws & Penalties in Georgia
In Georgia, you can be charged with a DUI if you are under the age of 21 and have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 percent or more. That is because anyone under 21 years old is legally prohibited from consuming and purchasing alcohol. Therefore, a low BAC can still result in criminal charges.
A first-time underage DWI is punishable by a jail sentence between 24 hours and 12 months, fines of up to $1,000, at least 20 hours of community service, and a driver's license suspension for six months.
A second-time underage DWI within 10 years carries a jail term ranging from 72 hours to 12 months, a minimum of 30 days of community service, fines of up to $1,000, and license suspension between 18 months and five years.
A third underage DWI offense within 10 years is punishable by a jail sentence between 15 days and 12 months, fines of up to $5,000, at least 30 days of community service, and license suspension ranging from 18 months to five years.
How Does a DUI Affect Your Insurance Rates?
In Georgia, you may have to pay higher insurance rates if you have a DUI on your record. The amount that your rates will increase will depend on the circumstances of your DUI, but you may have to pay higher rates for three years if you have a DUI conviction. If you are under the age of 21 and have a DUI, your rates will increase for six years.
How Can I Avoid a DUI If I'm Under 21?
If you are under the age of 21, there are steps that you can take to avoid being charged with a DUI. First, you should never drink and drive. Even if you do not feel that you have had too much to drink, you should not get behind the wheel. You should also avoid driving with other people in your vehicle who are intoxicated. If you are pulled over and the police officer suspects that you have been drinking, you should not refuse to take a chemical test. If you do, you could face a one-year license suspension.
Contact Our Marietta Underage DUI Lawyer Today
If you are facing a DUI charge and you are under the age of 21, you need to contact a DUI attorney who is experienced in defending DUI cases. At Frye Law Group, our Marietta juvenile and underage DUI attorney is ready to fight for you.
What should I do if I get stopped for a DUI?
Social Media and DUI Cases: The Impact on Legal Outcomes in Georgia
DUI Felony Vs. Misdemeanor In Georgia: What’s The Difference?
The Legal Process of a DUI Arrest in Georgia
Avoiding a DUI: Tips for Responsible Drinking in Georgia
New Marietta, Georgia Open Container Law
A DUI Conviction Can Sideline Your Plans For The Future
What Our Clients Are Saying About Us
"She got my charge reduced to reckless driving and since I had gotten all my requirements done, reduced fine and no probation! Kim is AWESOME!"- Former Client