Top
DUI Defense In Paulding County

Paulding County Georgia DUI defense

Representing those in Bartow, Cobb, Cherokee, Fulton, Paulding, and Douglas Counties.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI in Paulding County Georgia, contact our office at Frye Law Group today to begin your defense.
As a former prosecutor and lifelong advocate for justice, Kim Frye knows that the State does not always fight fair. Finding an aggressive and experienced DUI lawyer can be one of the biggest challenges after a person has been accused of driving under the influence.

That’s why she has dedicated her practice to defending her clients and their rights to the fullest degree.

Paulding County Georgia DUI defense

If you’re pulled over in Paulding County Georgia for a DUI and an officer asks you to take a breathalyzer test, there’s not much use in saying no. Georgia is an implied consent state, which means that by driving on Georgia’s roads, you consent to a blood alcohol test.

A DUI in Paulding County Georgia is a serious criminal offense and has significant consequences for those convicted. It could affect how much you pay for car insurance, and that conviction will stay on your criminal record forever.

It’s also important to note that this includes 1st time offenders – Georgia does not have an exception for DUI first offenders. That means that, if convicted, even your first-time DUI can’t be expunged (cleared from your record).

The blood alcohol levels that can lead to a DUI are like those in most states in the US:

  • If you are over the age of 21, driving a passenger vehicle: 0.08 or higher
  • If you are driving a commercial vehicle: 0.04 or higher
  • If you are under 21: 0.02 or higher

The 30-day warning for DUI arrest in Paulding County Georgia

Anyone arrested in Paulding County Georgia for a DUI has to appear in two separate courts. First, you’ll appear in criminal court (the State of Georgia v. you). But after that, you’ll also have to appear in a civil court to determine whether your driver’s license will be suspended – also known as an administrative license suspension hearing.

When you are arrested in Paulding County Georgia, the police officer will fill out a form called DDS (Georgia Department of Driver’s Services) Form 1205. When DDS views your form, they’ll send you what’s commonly known as the 30-Day Letter. That’s because you only have 30 days to request a hearing after you receive the letter. If you don’t request a hearing, your license will automatically be suspended.

Call (770) 637-4555 or fill out our online contact form to set up a free case evaluation today. 

Potential Penalties

1st Time Receiving A DUI

If you get arrested for a DUI, you may face different penalties depending on your past arrests. If it’s your first time receiving a DUI, the penalties may include any of the following:

  • 1-10 days in jail (sometimes can be waived)
  • $300-$1000 fine plus surcharges
  • 12 months of probation
  • At least 40 hours of community service
  • Suspended driver’s license (limited permit is sometimes available, potential to drive with an ignition interlock device)
  • Clinical substance abuse evaluation and any recommended treatment
  • DUI Risk Reduction School (20 hours of class)
  • Going to a MADD Victim Impact Panel

2nd DUI

If it’s your second time receiving a DUI, the penalties may include any of the following:

  • 3-15 days in jail and up to 12 months of probation
  • $600-$1000 fine plus surcharges
  • 30 days (240 hours) of community service
  • Clinical substance abuse evaluation and any recommended treatment
  • DUI Risk Reduction School (20 hours of class)
  • Going to a MADD Victim Impact Panel
  • Suspended driver’s license for 4-18 months (limited permit is sometimes available after 4 months, potential to drive with an ignition interlock device)
  • Surrender license plate
  • Photo published in news

3rd DUI 

If it’s your third time receiving a DUI, the penalties may include any of the following:

  • High and aggravated misdemeanor
  • Habitual violator designation
  • 15 days to 12 months in jail
  • $1000-$5000 fine plus surcharges
  • 30 days (240 hours) of community service
  • Clinical substance abuse evaluation and any recommended treatment
  • DUI Risk Reduction School (20 hours of class)
  • Going to a MADD Victim Impact Panel
  • Minimum 2 year suspended driver’s license with no permit
  • Surrender license plate
  • Photo published in news

Felony DUI

Most of the time, being arrested for DUI is considered a misdemeanor offense. People deemed “habitual violators” that are arrested for a 4th DUI within a 10 year period are charged with felony DUI though. Felony DUI convictions carry very severe penalties, including:

  • Minimum 90 days in jail and maximum of 5 years
  • $1000-$5000 fine plus surcharges
  • 60 days (480 hours) of community service
  • Clinical substance abuse evaluation and any recommended treatment
  • DUI Risk Reduction School (20 hours of class)
  • Going to a MADD Victim Impact Panel
  • Suspended driver’s license with no permit
  • All other punishments associated with being a convicted felon

Contact a Paulding County Georgia DUI lawyer today

Representing those in Cobb, Bartow, Cherokee, Fulton, Paulding and Douglas Counties.

Because you have such a limited amount of time to contest your suspended license and the seriousness of DUI charges in Paulding County Georgia, you should call an attorney as soon as you receive notice of your charge.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI, contact our office at Frye Law Group today to begin your defense.

Got a DUI? Call (770) 637-4555.

Continue Reading Read Less

What should I do if I get stopped for a DUI?

Tell Us About Your Case

MOST SITUATIONS AREN’T BLACK AND WHITE. WE’LL LISTEN TO YOUR STORY AND HELP YOU FIND THE BEST POSSIBLE OUTCOME FOR YOUR CASE.
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy
  • DUI Felony Vs. Misdemeanor In Georgia: What’s The Difference?
    Read Blog
  • The Legal Process of a DUI Arrest in Georgia
    Read Blog
  • Avoiding a DUI: Tips for Responsible Drinking in Georgia
    Read Blog
  • New Marietta, Georgia Open Container Law
    Read Blog
  • A DUI Conviction Can Sideline Your Plans For The Future
    Read Blog
  • Authorities Charge Senior Citizen Health Care Driver With DUI
    Read Blog

What Our Clients Are Saying About Us

"She got my charge reduced to reckless driving and since I had gotten all my requirements done, reduced fine and no probation! Kim is AWESOME!"

- Former Client
  • Super Lawyers - 5 Years
  • Best of Cobb 2021 Winner
  • GACDL 2021
  • Best Criminal Defense Attorneys in Woodstock
  • Best of Cobb 2022 Winner
  • ACS-CHAL
  • AV Preeminent
  • Avvo
  • Best of Cobb 2020 Winner
  • Avvo 5 Stars
  • Law Firm 500
  • The National Trial Lawyers
  • Super Lawyers 2020
  • Super Lawyers - Kim Frye
  • Super Lawyers - Top 50 Women in Georgia
  • Trial Lawyers College