First Offense DUI Lawyer in Marietta
Fighting First-Time DUI Charges in Cobb, Fulton, Cherokee, Bartow, and Paulding Counties
Even if it’s your first offense, being convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) within the state of Georgia will have serious long-term consequences. This is because Georgia has little tolerance for driving while impaired by drugs or alcohol and punishes violations with extremely harsh penalties.
As a former prosecutor who has now operated her own practice for over a decade, our founder, Attorney Kim Frye, knows how to take on the state’s criminal justice system to defend your rights and fight for the justice you deserve.
One of the most important things to know about Georgia’s DUI laws is the state’s “implied consent” rule. This rule means that drivers consent to alcohol or drug tests anytime they operate a vehicle on a Georgia roadway. Law enforcement officers may employ several tests to determine whether someone was too physically impaired to safely operate a motor vehicle or to measure their blood alcohol content (BAC). The most common tests are field sobriety evaluations, breathalyzers, and urine tests. If you are found to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you could be immediately arrested and your car impounded.
Penalties for First-Time DUI Offenses
One of the most important consequences of a DUI arrest is that a conviction will go on your permanent criminal record, even if you’re a first-time offender. This means your conviction can neither be restricted nor expunged under any circumstances.
Other first-offense DUI penalties may include:
- Jail time (up to 10 days)
- Probation (12 months)
- Fines (up to $1000)
- Community service (at least 40 hours)
- Alcohol or drug risk courses
- Treatment programs
- Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Victim Impact Panels
- Suspension of your license or driving limitations (limited permit)
- Installation of an ignition interlock device at your expense
In addition to these penalties, you could face enhanced punishments if you had a child in the car, had a BAC of .15% or higher, or were involved in an accident. There are also collateral consequences, such as being required to pay for high-risk insurance and having limited job opportunities due to your criminal record.
If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence, we invite you to schedule a free case evaluation with our first offense DUI attorney in Marietta by calling (770) 637-4555.
Defending Yourself Against First-Time DUI Charges
At Frye Law Group, we understand that DUI arrests can be overwhelming, especially if it’s your first offense and you’re unfamiliar with the legal process. However, it’s important to remember that being arrested for driving under the influence does not automatically mean you are guilty. You can and should still fight the charges. The consequences are too serious not to challenge.
When you partner with us, you’re choosing to work with a legal team who is determined to pursue an optimal outcome for your case. We can assist you with jail release, prevent the imminent suspension of your license, and help you weigh your legal options.
Contact us today to discuss your case with our first offense DUI lawyer in Marietta.
What should I do if I get stopped for a DUI?
Tell Us About Your Case
MOST SITUATIONS AREN’T BLACK AND WHITE. WE’LL LISTEN TO YOUR STORY AND HELP YOU FIND THE BEST POSSIBLE OUTCOME FOR YOUR CASE.
New Marietta, Georgia Open Container Law
A DUI Conviction Can Sideline Your Plans For The Future
Authorities Charge Senior Citizen Health Care Driver With DUI
How Can You Fight Blood Alcohol Test Results?
Emotional Distress And Drunk Driving Cases
Cobb County Man Receives 15-Year Sentence For DUI Crash
What Our Clients Are Saying About Us
"She got my charge reduced to reckless driving and since I had gotten all my requirements done, reduced fine and no probation! Kim is AWESOME!"- Former Client