Cherokee County DUI Lawyer
At Frye Law Group, we know that driving while intoxicated (DUI) convictions can carry far-reaching consequences, from giving you a permanent criminal record to increasing your car insurance. Our experienced DUI attorney in Cherokee County is a former prosecutor committed to using her skills and insight into the criminal justice system to help clients fight harsh DUI convictions.
Other long-term DUI consequences may include:
- Suspension of your driver’s license
- Prison time
- Community service
- Alcohol or drug education courses
- Confiscation of your vehicle
The severity of these consequences depends on your specific situation, such as your BAC level at the time of your arrest, and the number of prior offenses (e.g., first-time offenders, second-time offenders, third-time offenders, and repeat/felony offenders).
If you’ve been arrested for driving while intoxicated in Cherokee County, we invite you to schedule an appointment with our DUI attorney by calling (770) 637-4555.
DUI Laws in North Georgia
Georgia has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country. For one, Georgia does not expunge DUI convictions for first-time offenders. This means any driver found operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs can be arrested, fined, imprisoned, and have a permanent criminal record.
In addition, although you may refuse a field sobriety test to determine your level of impairment, it is not recommended you do the same for a blood alcohol content (BAC) test. Georgia is an “implied consent state,” which means you consent to a BAC test simply by operating a vehicle within the state’s boundaries. It is possible to refuse a breathalyzer, but you may still be arrested, the officer can request other forms of testing, your license will likely be suspended, and you could face additional consequences.
BAC Limits in Georgia
- Minors (under 21) must have a BAC below .02%.
- Adults (21 and older) must have a BAC below .08%
- Commercial vehicle drivers must have a BAC below .04%
In addition to increased DUI charges for repeat offenders, Georgia also enhances penalties for anyone driving with a BAC above .15%, or with children in the car at the time of their arrest. Individuals involved in auto accidents may also face additional charges, which vary depending on several factors, including the severity of the injuries they caused.
DUI License Suspension
If you’re arrested for DUI in Georgia, you must typically appear in criminal court and civil court. The civil court decides whether your driver’s license will be suspended. It’s important to know that you have 30 days to request the civil court hearing. Failure to do so can result in the automatic suspension of your license.
The consequences of DUI arrests make these cases worth fighting. Our team has over 30 years of combined legal experience and, since we opened in 2008, we’ve helped defend the rights of over 1,000 Georgians. Needless to say, we know what it takes to pursue the best resolution for your circumstances.
You have limited time between a DUI arrest and the suspension of your license, so we strongly recommend that you contact our Cherokee County DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
What should I do if I get stopped for a DUI?
DUI Felony Vs. Misdemeanor In Georgia: What’s The Difference?
The Legal Process of a DUI Arrest in Georgia
Avoiding a DUI: Tips for Responsible Drinking in Georgia
New Marietta, Georgia Open Container Law
A DUI Conviction Can Sideline Your Plans For The Future
Authorities Charge Senior Citizen Health Care Driver With DUI
What Our Clients Are Saying About Us
"She got my charge reduced to reckless driving and since I had gotten all my requirements done, reduced fine and no probation! Kim is AWESOME!"- Former Client