Cobb County DUI Attorney
Defense for DUI Charges in Cobb County, GA
If you are facing DUI charges in Georgia, don't wait to seek legal help! Consulting with an experienced DUI lawyer in Cobb County right away can give you a fighting chance at overcoming this hurdle. Time is of the essence, so take action now to get back on the road and defend your rights. You need to understand the potential consequences and available defenses.
Is It Worth Getting an Attorney for a DUI?
While you are not legally required to have an DUI attorney, having one can greatly improve your chances of obtaining a favorable outcome. The consequences of a DUI conviction can have long-lasting effects on your life. Hiring an attorney who specializes in DUI cases in Cobb County, GA can help minimize the stress and possibly even get the charges reduced or dismissed. DUI charges can result in fines, a suspended license, and even jail time. A DUI charge can have an effect on your employment and personal life.
Our experienced Cobb County DUI attorney can help you understand your rights, review the evidence against you, and develop a strong defense strategy. They can answer your questions, explain the legal process, and guide you through each step of the case.
Cobb County DUI Laws
Under Georgia law, a driver can be charged with a DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. However, for drivers under the age of 21, the legal BAC limit is only 0.02%, while for commercial drivers, it is 0.04%. In addition to alcohol, a driver can also be charged with a DUI if they are found to be under the influence of drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol.
GA Penalties for a DUI Conviction
If convicted of a DUI in Cobb County, the penalties can be severe. These can include:
- First-time DUI offender
- up to 12 months in jail
- a fine of up to $1,000
- community service
- a driver's license suspension for up to 12 months
- possible driving program and/or may have limited driving privileges
- Second offense DUI within 10 years
- fines can increase to over $1000
- up to 90 days imprisonment
- 3 year suspension of driving privileges
- Third offense DUI
- Mandatory minimum jail sentence of 15 days, up to 1 year
- Fines of up to $5,000
- Community service
- License suspension of up to five years
It's important for Georgians to understand that DUI offenses are taken very seriously in the state and that if you're charged with multiple DUIs, you should seek counsel immediately for your best chance in court.
Defenses For DUI Charges in Georgia
There are a few potential defenses you can use if you face a DUI charge in Cobb County, GA. One of the most common defenses is demonstrating that you were not driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or that there were mitigating circumstances like an emergency or medical situation that caused you to drive.
The accuracy of the breathalyzer or blood test used to determine BAC may be challenged, or the officer's conduct during the traffic stop may have violated the driver's rights. You could also present evidence that the field sobriety test was administered incorrectly, contesting it as not credible evidence. Additionally, arguments can be made that the arresting officer did not follow protocol for DUI stops and arrests or your rights were violated during the process.
It is important to note that every case is different, and the best defense strategy will depend on the specific circumstances of the case. Having a DUI lawyer who is well-versed in Georgia DUI laws on your side is invaluable when trying to build a strong defense to protect your rights and interests.
Finding a DUI Defense Attorney in Cobb County
If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI in Cobb County, it is critical to seek the advice of a knowledgeable and experienced DUI defense attorney. An attorney can help you understand your rights, evaluate the strength of the case against you, and develop a strong defense strategy. Look for an attorney who has experience handling DUI cases in Cobb County and who can provide a free consultation to discuss your case. With the right attorney on your side, you can fight your DUI charge and work towards a positive outcome.
Contact our DUI lawyer Cobb County, GA for a FREE consultation today!
Discovering YOUR Story
Tell Us About Your Case
MOST SITUATIONS AREN’T BLACK AND WHITE. WE’LL LISTEN TO YOUR STORY AND HELP YOU FIND THE BEST POSSIBLE OUTCOME FOR YOUR CASE.
What Do I Do After My Third DUI Offense In Cobb County?
Is Possession Of A Controlled Substance A Felony In Georgia?
How Long Do You Stay In Jail For Domestic Violence In Georgia?
Can A Domestic Violence Case Be Dropped In Georgia?
What If My Georgia Lawyer Won’T Call Me Back?
What Is Considered Child Pornography?
What Our Clients Are Saying About Us
"Kim gave our family our life back and we will forever be grateful for all her hard work and dedication."- Laura