Georgia’S New Hazing Laws: What You Need To Know

In September of 2017, Max Gruver, an LSU student from Roswell, Georgia, died from alcohol poisoning after another student ordered him to chug a bottle of 190-proof liquor as part of a hazing ritual.

The student who ordered Gruver to drink the alcohol was convicted in Louisiana of negligent homicide and sentenced to 5 years in prison, although a judge suspended half of that sentence in 2019.

After Gruver’s death, Louisiana passed a law that made hazing a felony, and a campaign began to pass a similar law in Georgia, Gruver’s home state.

The proposed Max Gruver law would have made hazing a felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000. It also created a number of other provisions:

Related Posts
  • DUI Felony Vs. Misdemeanor In Georgia: What’s The Difference? Read More
  • 5 Crucial Ways a Criminal Defense Attorney Can Protect Your Rights Read More
  • Is Possession Of A Controlled Substance A Felony In Georgia? Read More